This land was purchased by Louis Beyer in 1866. His son, Charles Beyer, took over in 1886 and built the big barn and current house around 1890. The house took two years and three men to build. Timbers from the woods were used; the men received room and board and $500.00.
Prior to the new house being built, the home was nestled between the barns and later was used as the chicken coop until 2003. All during this time, the Beyers farm was traditional with dairy cows and crops.
Some apple trees were planted in 1890, just north of the current house where the parking lot is now. In 1925, 15 acres surrounding the house and barns were planted and in 1946, 10 acres across the road.
One of Charles' sons, Emil and his wife Evelyn, took over the farm in 1946. By this time, apples were the main crop. Their daughter, Linda Struye, continued the family tradition when taking over the family orchard tradition in 1972. She continues today to provide her customers with the experience of her childhood days on a rural farm.
The current house has undergone a historical restoration, transforming it back to it's original Victorian-era look it had in 1890 with added touches.
Open to the public since 2011, The Farmhouse has coffee, teas and unique gifts.